First degree murder convictions typically draw the harshest sentences of any crime. As with the elements of the crime and defenses available, sentencing can vary from state to state. Possible sentences are outlined in state statutes, although even where there are strict statutory guidelines, courts can still have some leeway to determine which sentence a convicted murderer will receive based on the facts of the case.
Statutory Sentencing Options
The possible sentences for first degree murder vary widely by state. In some states, such as Florida, all first degree murder convictions bring either the death penalty or life in prison without the possibility of parole.
Other states, such as California, use a two tiered sentencing structure: the first being a range of years (often up to life) in prison, and the second either life without the possibility of parole or the death penalty (in states that allow it). Which tier of sentence the court hands down typically depends on whether the prosecution can prove any of a host of aggravating factors.
State laws spell out specific factors which render those found guilty of first degree murder subject to the state's harshest sentence. Aggravating factors include aspects of the crime, of the defendant, or of the victim(s) which render the defendant eligible for either the death penalty or life in prison without the possibility of parole.
Common aggravating factors include:
This list merely illustrates several of the factors aggravating factors used in some states consult state law for the complete list of a specific state's aggravating factors.
The Death Penalty
Currently, most states retain the death penalty as an option for those convicted of their highest level murder offense. States vary in terms of how often prosecution seeks the death penalty, and also in whether their top level murder convictions require the death penalty. Texas, for example, imposes death sentences on all those convicted of capital murder, its highest level murder charge. In California, on the other hand, aggravated first degree murder can draw either the death penalty or life in prison without parole.
Life without the Possibility of Parole
In states which do not impose the death penalty, conviction on a first degree murder charge with aggravating factors generally results in a sentence of life in prison without the possibility of parole. In many states which do have the death penalty, an aggravated first degree murder conviction draws life in prison without parole if the prosecution does not seek, or fails to convince the court, to impose the death penalty.
First degree murder convictions without aggravating factors draw a range of prison sentences. This can include life in prison, usually with an eventual possibility of parole. The range of prison sentence for this type of murder conviction varies by state and can be 25 years to life in California, or 20 to 25 years in New York, to name only two. Consult state laws for specific ranges where you live.
Questions About First Degree Murder? Get Legal Help Today
Although first degree murder laws vary from state to state, it's a serious crime in every state. Conviction of first degree murder can result in a long prison sentence and sometimes even the death penalty. If you're facing first degree murder charges, it's in your best interest to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney to answer any questions, to negotiate with the prosection, and to develop the strongest case possible in your defense.